A Super Easy Pumpkin Eggnog Recipe (Really, More of an Idea)

If this isn’t your first time, I know, I know, where the heck have I been? How terribly unprofessional of me to disappear virtually without a trace and not return at the time I initially indicated! I’m sorry, I really am. I’ve been back for awhile now but haven’t written anything for some time due to a variety of reasons *cough*excuses*cough*.

I can’t promise I’m back to my every 3-4 days posting schedule, but I have TONS to write about and new (better) photos to share and… I just sort of missed blogging.

Oh, and if this IS your first time reading my blog, or you haven’t been here in a very long while – welcome! Ignore all that stuff above. Let’s be on our merry way now, shall we? 😉

Now for the real part of this – the “recipe”. I say it’s really more of an idea because frankly it’s not a recipe. Well, it is a recipe if you would need a recipe for a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. I won’t judge, but for the rest of us, it’s really not a recipe. And someone’s probably already had this idea, but if you haven’t – hooray!

I feel the need to mention that I REALLY love Christmas. I know that Christmas is commercialized and it’s atrocious and really has almost no background in true Christianity, etc, etc. That said, it is still my favorite holiday because I absolutely love giving. I can’t say I do it as often as I like, but I do love it.

With that in mind, I also love eggnog. I love it, but it’s way too sweet for me. Kind of to a point of being gross.

I’ve never made it myself from scratch (perhaps that is part of my problem). The store-bought kind can be good but for me, it’s way too syrupy. Adding milk cuts the sweetness but it also cuts the flavor so I am not a huge fan of doing that.

I made some pumpkin shortbread recently, which calls for only a few tablespoons of pumpkin. Since I went with the canned variety, I had a bunch left. I also can’t speak for or against the recipe. I assume it’s good as written, but when I made it I accidentally jotted the recipe down wrong (I’m a cheap bastard with no printer) and lo and behold, used a 1/2 cup too much flour in a double-batch recipe. It came out really dry, obviously. However, the flavor was good aside from the flour-y taste, so I imagine if I’d made it right, it would’ve tasted pretty good.

Back to my leftover pumpkin. Not one to waste, and with no plans to make pumpkin bread or pie or any other pumpkin dish anytime soon, I tried to think of what to do with it. That’s when I noticed my eggnog. I bought the Southern Comfort brand, in Vanilla Spice flavor. Thinking about the mild pumpkin pie flavor in the cookies made me think of all the spices – most of which were already used in the eggnog.

Eggnog… pumpkin… spices…

How about pumpkin eggnog?

Pumpkin Eggnog Recipe Idea

Eggnog, check. Glass, check. Pureed pumpkin, check. This really is not a recipe.

I poured a small glass of eggnog.

Pumpkin eggnog recipe using store bought eggnog.

Pouring about half a glass or so of the eggnog.

Next we get out the pumpkin.

Pureed pumpkin for pumpkin eggnog recipe.

My pumpkin was refrigerated so it didn't lower the temp of the eggnog.

Since this isn’t really a recipe, it’s completely foolproof. If you get too much pumpkin, you add a touch of eggnog. With two ingredients there isn’t much to mess up.

First scoop of pumpkin for my pumpkin eggnog.

In goes the first heaping spoonful.

I like it really pumpkin-y, so I decided to add two scoops.

Pumpkin eggnog recipe using canned pumpkin and store bought eggnog

In goes the second scoop.

Then you just stir it up really well. You could whisk it or whatever. Doesn’t really matter. You’ll still have tiny pumpkin pieces since the canned pumpkin is just a puree.

Thick rich pumpkin eggnog, easiest recipe ever.

All stirred up, rich, and thick!

The finished product is quite a bit thicker than regular eggnog, so it has a pretty luxurious mouth-feel. However, since canned pumpkin isn’t sweetened at all, the flavor is very mild. The result is almost like a pumpkin pie milkshake, but not as sweet.

Pumpkin eggnog from canned pumpkin and store bought eggnog. Easiest recipe ever.

Thick, smooth, and a lovely orange color.

Keep in mind when you drink it, it still is eggnog. So if you’re on a diet, diabetic, whatever, you still need to be conscientious of the amount you take it. The reduction of the sweetness from the pumpkin can trick your brain into forgetting it’s actually rich, creamy eggnog. However, the pumpkin does allow you to increase the overall volume of the drink for only a few extra calories. A 1/2 cup of the pureed pumpkin has only 40 calories, and 300% of the DV of vitamin A.

But it is still sugary, creamy eggnog. I have an easy time forgetting that when drinking it pumpkinized.

Enjoy!

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Beginners, Food, Life, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good idea — if the stores would only carry eggnog longer…
    I had leftover pumpkin puree so put it in the food processor with some cubed cream cheese, some powdered sugar, and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. Used it as cold dip with cinnamon sweet potato chips (gluten-free). Could have eaten it by the spoonful….yum!

Leave a Reply

